Above is a screenshot from Workspace settings > What's new settings.
How often the automatic email notifications are sent from the workspace to the users (both admins and participants). Options are Immediately / Daily / Weekly / Never. This option affects the default settings shown to users in their own profiles' notification settings.
These settings dictate what actions create What's new notifications in a workspace.
Indicates with a green circle that there is input in the workspace that the participant has not seen.
If admin deactivates this: The participant will not see that there are unread comments when when she/he enters the workspace.
Indicates with green circle or green dot that there is new input in the workspace only for admins.
Indicates with a filled, green dot that there are unread input directly related to the user, for example a reply or a “like” to a comment he/she has been participating in.
What happens if admin deactivate this: When participants enter the workspace, they will not see if and where somebody has written a comment or reply that is connected to a comment or a reply that he/she has previously made.
Email that is sent out immediately when there is a reply or like to a comment that he/she has been participating in. This feature makes sure that conversation is not missed.
What happens if admin deactivates this: There will be no immediate email sent to the participants to inform that someone has added a comment, reply or like to his/her comment.
Above is a screenshot from My profile >Edit profile > Notification settings
The default is the same as the workspace settings' email sending policy.
Every user (admins and participants) can change their personal preference of notification emails' frequency between Immediately / Daily / Weekly / Never.